Improve Yourself

Self-Motivation.

I’m at this point in my life where I need to stop relying on other people to make me successful. As a kid, I relied on my siblings and my parents; when I had troubles, they found solutions. Since I was the baby of the family for a good seven years, before my little sister came along, I got used to the feeling of security. I never had to think for myself. I mean, of course, I had to do things on my own, but I always waited for their direction or motivation. Now that I am on my own, I realize that I need to motivate myself.

Do what you need to do to make yourself successful and don’t stop until your dreams become your reality. Cliche right, but it’s good motivation. I’ve realized how lazy I really am. I’ve done little to nothing to succeed and I’ve waited for direction and confirmation since I’ve entered college. I was so busy looking for some type of guidance, waiting for something or someone to find me and “save me” that I didn’t even realize I wasted most of my success by waiting. Now, I’m not saying patience isn’t important. We all know patience is a virtue, but don’t use it as an excuse.

“Working on myself, for myself, by myself.” 

That is my mantra for the rest of 2017. Like most people, my 2016 was not the best and now that we’re a good two and a half months into the new year, I know what I want. Don’t go searching for motivation in things and people that will only chain you to the ground. Find your own motivation within yourself. Trust in yourself, believe in yourself, and love yourself enough to make your dreams a reality. Do good things for yourself and then be patient. Don’t sit around and do nothing and act patient. Good things come to those who wait, but good things only come when you’ve done good. Don’t mistake laziness for patience and don’t do good just to receive good. Make sure your head and your heart is in the right place and life will turn out pretty okay for you.

“Until you value yourself, you won’t value your time. Until you value your time, you will not do anything with it. ”
– M. Scott Peck

One thought on “Improve Yourself

Leave a Reply

