How I Fell in Love with Writing Again

I had this love for writing.

It was amazing simply because words could not describe how passionate I was about it. I would write about anything and everything; if I were being honest, most of my writing didn’t make sense, but that’s okay because I don’t make sense.

Writing is just another form of expression, and I loved it because I could still express myself with no judgment. (Okay, that’s a complete lie, someone will always be judging you.)  I could write however I wanted to and face little to no consequences because for every person opposing me, another could always relate/understand. As empowering as I felt when writing, I eventually fell out of love with writing. It no longer kept me happy, instead, it felt like a chore. I felt like in order for my writing to matter, it had to be deep, filled with wisdom and appreciative. After a while, I was no longer writing for myself and my experiences, but rather, writing for other people through their experiences.

I took a little hiatus and learned that the love of writing never really left when I arrived on campus. I moved in early, and as “homey” as Whitewater felt, I was still away from home and on my own. When I would get frustrated, I immediately turned to a form of writing. If I had something to say but didn’t have the courage to actually express it, I turned to writing. Writing was a solution and there I found that I never fell out of love with writing in the first place.

Just like any true relationship, you never really fall out of love with the subject/object at hand; sometimes you just need to return to square one again and discover all the reasons why you fell in love with it in the first place.

I guess, what I’m trying to say is, never convince yourself that you don’t love something anymore just because you hit a roadblock. Not everyone will agree with the way you think, not everyone will support how you feel and that’s okay. If you truly love something, the way I love writing, then continue to pursue it because everything requires time, patience, and understanding.

“Writing is an exploration. You start from nothing and learn as you go.”

-E. L. Doctorow

Leave a Reply

