Friend or Foe?

Are you my friend or are you a foe?

College is a place where you test the waterworks of adulthood, at least that’s what I was told. See, I assumed it would be a place where you get to explore who you are or who you want to be. I never realized it also showed who you could carry and who you had to drop. Lately, I’ve learned a lesson or two about friendship and how I function in that particular relationship. As much as I want to say that I am the better friend, I know it’s a complete lie.

You see, when you attend college, you never really know how to react to people. You would like to think that the people you spend every day with will develop a bond that is almost protective of you. Unfortunately, that’s not always the case. You have to realize that when you first meet a person, you both still have that “dog eat dog” mentality. You want to trust that this person is being your friend, but you also realize you don’t know enough about them, which automatically defaults them to a foe. As sad as that is, I guess we just have to realize that we are just selfish individuals.

Now, with that being said, not all foes will stay as foes. People are this way, especially in our generation, because we don’t really know what loyalty is. We’ve never been shown what a true relationship is because we’re always competing to be the best. I’m not saying I’m some expert psychologist, but within my experiences, this is the mentality of us all. As much as it sucks, we just need to realize that patience is key.

Be patient with me and I’ll return the favor.

I’ve learned that people crave loyalty and a sense of belonging. No matter what happens, if you truly feel like a friendship can last, continue to show that loyalty until you can no longer do it. If they eventually return the loyalty, then you both win. If they don’t, and you know you’ve given all that you could, just turn around and walk away. When you’re gone, they’ll realize what they lost one day and go searching for another you. Friend or foe, you can always tell and if you can’t, just be patient and time will tell.

“I think I might keep you. You understand me.” 

-My best friend

Leave a Reply

