Make Peace With Yourself

Before you run off to college, make peace with yourself. Don’t run off with a heavy heart, a guilty conscious, and a list filled with things unsaid. If you absolutely need to run, then go, run like the wind, but know that everything will catch up eventually so do not find comfort in running.

To my ladies, do not wait for a knight in shining armor to save you. Save yourself, find yourself, and make peace with yourself.

To my men, do not wait for the next princess to save your “damaged soul”.  Save yourself, find yourself, and make peace with yourself.

IMG_2188.JPG

I’m not saying you need to go explore nature and be one with yourself, as nice as that may sound, but I am saying take some time to know and learn from yourself. For example, one day, when I was re-organizing my book self, it completely fell apart. I nearly cried because my bookshelf represented my life and just before me it crumbled. I tried to fix it, but it just kept falling apart. Finally, I took a step back and looked at the bigger picture. Instead of trying to fix it all at once, I took my time and started small. That day, I learned that I need to slow down. Instead of tackling things all at once and rushing, I needed to start small and be patient with myself.

You don’t have to go into the wilderness and find peace within yourself, you can do it anywhere, really. So once again, take the time to understand yourself, be patient with yourself, and make peace with yourself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

