I am Mine Before I am Ever Anyone Else’s

 

I’ve had a lot of troublecropped-pinterest11.jpg coming to terms with this quote. For some odd reason, I was immediately drawn to it and it’s stuck with me for the past year and a half. I’m not sure what it means exactly, but it has definitely made a mark. To me, it is a constant reminder that I will always have a choice.

I’ve always had this bad habit of putting my needs last. (Now, I’m not saying this is a bad thing; it has taught me patience, caring, and has open my mind to a lot of things.) I never did anything for myself, and because of that I lost my way a little. While everyone was focused on building themselves, I was focused on supporting them wholeheartedly and forgetting that I needed to build myself as well. I’ve made countless decisions for myself based on other people’s thoughts and feelings. Because of that, I’ve also gotten myself in a lot of trouble. I was so wrapped up in everyone else’s opinion that I buried my own voice. Somewhere along the lines of this summer, I’ve come to the realization that no one has my back like I do. While everyone is thinking of themselves, I should be thinking of me too, because I matter.

It was time for me to respect myself more, to have more confidence in myself. Instead of giving all my thoughts and opinions to someone else, I gave them to myself and in return I found my voice. Slowly but surely, make my own decisions, I voice my own opinions, and I build myself up.

There is nothing wrong with being there for other people, and putting their needs before you, but don’t make a habit of it. At the end of the day, nothing matters to you except your comfort. Be there for those who can’t be there for themselves, but know your limits.

You matter. They matter. We all matter.

Leave a Reply

