Summer of 2016

One word to describe the summer of 2016- Bittersweet

As my summer slowly comes to an end, I can’t help but cherish these bittersweet memories. The summer of 2016 will definitely be one of those memories that I look back on in 10 years and regret absolutely nothing. I’ve had a lot of time for some self-reflection and freedom, and I can honestly tell you, I am not the same person I was at the beginning of this summer.

When I look back, I will remember the endless supply of ice-cream, the smell of the beach, the feel of the sand, and most importantly the late night doughnut runs with my best friends. I will remember the feel of the sun on my face as I kayaked for the first time this summer, the texture of the grass on my bare feet, and the occasional thunderstorms that calmed my soul.

I will recall the endless string of heartbroken boys and girls as they head off to college, the late night talks with my best friends that eventually led to arguments, and the random, last minute, hang outs.

This is the summer that I learned to appreciate beauty; beauty within the world, beauty within my friends, beauty within life, and beauty within me.

So, as I head off to college as a freshmen in the next couple weeks, I will cling dearly to the lessons I’ve learned this summer. Everyone tells you that college will be the best years of your life, but no one talks about how it all begins in the summer before your freshmen year.

Summer of 2016, filled with lessons, freedom, and beauty. It is my pleasure to say a bittersweet goodbye to the most memorable summer yet.

                         -Pseudonymityy

 

Leave a Reply

